City News

News

4/9/18

Neighborhood News

Information on College Station events and services.

Mosquito Dunks available beginning April 10

Mosquito dunks will be available on April 10. All neighborhoods and HOAs, please contact Barbara Moore, Neighborhood Services Coordinator at 764-6262 or at bmoore@cstx.gov to set up a time to pick up dunks. For residents that are not in an HOA or neighborhood association, mosquito dunks can be picked up from the City Secretary's Office at City Hall between the hours of 9:00 am and 4:00 pm daily. The City Secretary's Office number is 764-3500, to call for more information.

Mark your calendars for Gardening with the Masters

Spring is here, so it's time to break out the SPF and get in the garden! If you need a little help restoring your garden to it's pre-winter glory, attending Gardening with the Masters should be on your to-do list this month. Ages 55+ are invited to Southwood Community Center on Tuesday, April 17 from 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. to learn lawn and garden information specific to our area. Topics include vegetable gardens, container gardening, easy-care landscape plants and helpful tips for preparing your lawn for summer. Sessions are presented by Brazos County Master Gardeners. Admission is free and a light lunch will be served.

For questions, call 979.764.6351.

To view a complete list of senior programs, visit cstx.gov/seniors.

Don't miss this month's Exploring History Luncheon

Enjoy lunch while learning about our community’s history! These lectures are made possible through a partnership with the College Station Historic Preservation Committee. This month’s Exploring History Luncheon will be “Carnegie History Center” by Rachel Medders. The luncheon is Wednesday, April 18 at 11:30 a.m. at Southwood Community Center, located at 1520 Rock Prairie Rd. Cost is $7 per person.

Please RSVP by Friday, April 13 to Katy Peterson at kpeterson@cstx.gov or call 979.764.6371.

Learn what's coming to CS on our latest podcast

It’s been a long time since Economic Development Director Natalie Ruiz and Public Communications Director Jay Socol talked rumors versus reality in terms of restaurants, retail, and more. This episode of “Is This a Thing?” covers a lot of ground, including flip-flop scenarios about In-N-Out Burger. Using examples of Academy and Gander Mountain, Nat also gives great insight into why vacant properties stay empty so long.

Click here to listen, watch or read to learn what's coming to College Station.

Links

For more information on the community in and around College Station, please see the following links.


City of College Station Police

Non- emergency number  979/764-3600

Beat 80 Sergeant:  Sgt. Mike Dean           (979) 764-5097   mdean@cstx.gov

Sector C Lieutenant:  Lt. Charles Fleeger   (979) 764-3613   cfleeger@cstx.gov

City Manager:         Frank Simpson           (979) 764-3510  fsimpson@cstx.gov

Deputy City Manager: Kathy Merrill            (979) 764-3510   kmerrill@cstx.gov

Report issues to the city

Local

College Station ISD